Gyalpa stands for fair Economic Management

Gyalpa is a social trading company trading fashion, accessories and care products from the Middle East.

We import from #Lebanon, from #Syria, from #Jordan, from #Turkey, from #Egypt and from #Palestine.

We love textiles and are committed to fair fashion.

We offer 3 different product segments:  #fair #sustainable #creative

Social products:  Help and become active by consciously shopping..

  • Our social products are predominantly developed and manufactured by women in precarious situations, such as in the camps in Jordan and Lebanon or in low-income districts of the metropolises of Cairo and Istanbul.

Sustainable products: Respect and protect our planet, which we share with all people in the world.

  • Only natural or recycled materials are used for our sustainable products, especially those that have been used in the MENA region for centuries, such as Juniper, olive, argan, jasmine and cotton. 

Creative products: When traditional art meets modern design.

  • Our creative products are characterized by the exciting combination of traditional techniques and modern design of the MENA region.

In the world, about 70% of jobs are filled by men, in management positions the proportion is even higher.  We reverse the principle.  70% of our products are manufactured, designed, purchased and sold by women.

We give 70% of our proceeds to the producers.  The rest is used for packaging, transport, import duty, storage costs and rent.

We stand for fair and social Trade

Most of our employees in Germany are volunteers in the Gyalpa community.  We strive to ensure that they receive fair compensation in the future, especially if they are people who have recently immigrated to Germany.  However, we all prefer that the proceeds (70%) which flow to the women in the countries of origin remain at the current high level.  The salary level in Germany would significantly increase the retail prices of our products.  And we don’t want to expect our customers to do the same without being asked.  In our shop we label all our products twice, with (fair price) and without “Deutschlandpauschale” (fair price).  There you can decide for yourself which price you want to pay.

But we promise, as long as we don’t generate enough profit for it or don’t receive any support, we will continue to work without remuneration and thus show solidarity to the women in the Middle East.

This is the vicious circle of global trade and illustrates the economic straitjacket in which many of the producers home countries are located.  For the usual reaction of global corporations to keep prices low for Western consumers is the unworthy payment of producers at production sites.

Our products

INSTAGRAM

[instagram-feed]

Gyalpa steht für faires Wirtschaften

Gyalpa ist ein soziales Handelsunternehmen, das mit Mode, Accessoires und Pflegeprodukten aus dem Nahen Osten handelt.

Wir importieren aus dem #Libanon, aus #Syrien, aus #Jordanien, aus der #Türkei, aus #Ägypten und aus #Palästina. We import from #Lebanon, from #Syria, from #Jordan, from #Turkey, from #Egypt and from #Palestine.

Wir lieben Textilien und setzen uns für Fair Fashion ein.

Wir bieten 3 verschiedene Produktsegmente: #fair #nachhaltig #kreativ

Soziale Produkte: Hilf mit und werde aktiv in dem du bewußt einkaufen gehst.

  • Unsere sozialen Produkte werden überwiegend von Frauen in prekären Lebenslagen entwickelt und hergestellt, wie zum Beispiel in den Camps in Jordanien und im Libanon oder in einkommensschwachen Vierteln der Metropolen Kairo und Istanbul.

Nachhaltige Produkte: Achte und schütze unseren Planten, den wir mit allen Menschen auf dieser Welt teilen.

  • Für unsere nachhaltigen Produkte werden ausschließlich natürliche oder recycelte Materialien verwendet, insbesondere solche die seit Jahrhunderten in der MENA Region verwendet werden, wie zum Beispiel: Wacholder, Olive, Argan, Jasmin und Baumwolle.

Kreative Produkte: Wenn traditionelle Kunst auf modernes Design trifft.

  • Unsere kreativen Produkten zeichnen sich durch die spannende Verbindung von traditionellen Techniken und modernem Design der MENA Region aus.

In der Welt sind ca. 70% der Arbeitsplätze von Männer besetzt, in Managementpositionen ist der Anteil noch höher. Wir kehren das Prinzip um. Bei uns werden 70% der Produkte von Frauen hergestellt, entworfen, eingekauft und verkauft.

Wir geben 70% unseres Erlöses an die Produzent*innen. Der Rest wird für Verpackung, Transport, Einfuhrzoll, sowie Lagerkosten und Miete verwendet.

Wir stehen für fairen und sozialen Handel

Die meisten unserer Mitarbeiter in Deutschland sind ehrenamtlich Teil der Gyalpa Community. Wir bemühen uns, das sie zukünftig auch fair vergütet werden, insbesondere wenn es sich um Menschen handelt, die erst kürzlich nach Deutschland eingewandert sind. Wir alle bevorzugen jedoch, das die Erlöse (70%), welche zu den Frauen in den Herkunftsländern fließen auf dem aktuellen hohen Niveau bleiben. Das Gehaltsniveau in Deutschlands würde die Retail-Preise unserer Produkte erheblich erhöhen. Und das wollen wir auch unsere Kunden nicht ungefragt zu muten.  In unserem Laden zeichnen wir all unsere Produkte zweifach aus, mit (Fairer Preis) und ohne „Deutschlandpauschale“ (Fair Preis). Du kannst dort selbst entscheiden, welchen Preis du zahlen wollen.

Aber wir versprechen, solange wir nicht ausreichend Profit dafür generieren oder keine Förderung erhalten, werden wir ohne Vergütung weiter arbeiten und uns somit den Frauen im Nahen Osten solidarisch zeigen.

Das ist der Teufelskreis des globalen Handels und verdeutlicht die wirtschaftliche Zwangsjacke, in der sich viele der Heimatländer der Produzent*innen befinden. Denn die übliche Reaktion der globalen Konzerne, um die Preise niedrig für die westlichen Konsumenten zu halten, ist die unwürdige Bezahlung der Produzent*innnen in den Produktionsstandorten.